top of page

About Us

The project is run by Dr. Vivek Venkatesh. Since the start of the project, Venkatesh has been assisted by an interdisciplinary team of SOMEONE researchers and researcher-practitioners most notably, Ms. Kathryn Urbaniak, Dr. Tieja Thomas, Dr. Nicole Fournier-Sylvester, Dr. Sandra Chang-Kredl, Dr. Jihan Rabah, Dr. Juan Carlos Castro, Dr. Owen Chapman, Dr. Ketra Schmitt, Dr. Jason Wallin, Dr. Jeffrey Podoshen, Dr. Robert McGray, Dr. Ayaz Naseem, Dr. Adeela Arshad-Ayaz, Dr. Martin Lalonde, and Ms. Sarmista Das.

Our team members are from all four faculties at Concordia, as well as Champlain College (Montréal), the University of Alberta (Edmonton), and Franklin & Marshall College (Lancaster, Pennsylvania). Our project brings researchers and practitioners with a wide range of expertise including consumer consumption and cultural theory, peace education, terrorism risk assessment, psychoanalytics, social and public pedagogy, feminism, citizen education, discourse analysis, classroom usage of social media, and art education.


Announcement of Community Resilience Fund award  – September 2017

Back row, left to right: Marc Miller Member of Parliament (Ville-Marie — Le Sud-Ouest — Île-des-Soeurs); Nicole Fournier-Sylvester; Vivek Venkatesh; Justin Powlowski (Associate Vice-President, Research & Graduate Studies, Concordia University) Front row, left to right: Jihan Rabah; Kathryn Urbaniak; Juan Carlos-Castro.

(Photo credit: Concordia University. All rights reserved.)


Researchers & Collaborators

Post-doctoral Fellows & Research Associates

Research Assistants

Past Interns & Research Assistants

Anna Saint-Martin, Ashley Montgomery, Christopher Dufort, Colleen Leonard, Dezy Nair, Ehsan Akbari, Emma Haraké, Éva Roy, Jennifer Faucher, Jihène Hichri, Julien Younes, Kathy Pauls, Léah Snider, Lou Raskin, Lucas Thow, Marilou Lyonnais, Mairin Miller, Maxime Brunet, Marc-Antoine Bertrand, Marie-Pierre Labrie, Melissa Granovsky, Michelle Savard, Milagros Lopez Daglio, Laurie-Anne Beaulieu, Olivia Morson, Peter Dimitrakopoulos, Quinten Sheriff, Racha Cheikh-Ibrahim, Ramya Panchacharam, Stephanie Kozak,

Whitney Slipp

bottom of page